Mayor set to veto SF stop sign ordinance

By Mayor_Ed_Lee.jpg: Nancy Pelosi derivative work: Tktru (Mayor_Ed_Lee.jpg) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

In a disappointing yet not entirely unexpected move, San Francisco mayor Ed Lee has threatened to veto pending legislation that would change enforcement of specific traffic violations by cyclists.

I’m not willing to trade away safety for convenience, and any new law that reaches my desk has to enhance public safety, not create potential conflicts that can harm our residents.
— “Lee says he’ll veto legislation OKing rolling stops for cyclists.” SFGate.

One of the more frustrating parts of this is his statement that his statement that he is “…not willing to trade away safety for convenience…” This clearly indicates that either he doesn’t understand the motivations and safety data behind this legislation, or is intentionally phrasing his statement using language intended to persuade. In fact, all of the significant arguments in favor of such a change in traffic law enforcement are based primarily on safety concerns.

Currently 6 of the 11 members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors have supported this legislation, with 1 against. The remaining are, at the time of this writing, undecided or have not yet publicly stated a position. If the mayor does in fact veto this legislation as stated, that veto could be overridden by a vote of 9 of the 11 supervisors.

Now is the time for the residents of San Francisco to make your opinions known on this issue, especially in the districts with undecided supervisors.Not sure what district you reside in? Check out the city wide map, or click on the District in the listing below.

The current district supervisors, their position and contact information:


Eric Mar Supervisor ThumbnailIn Favor

Eric Mar
District 1
(415) 554-7410 – Voice
(415) 554-7415 – Fax
Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org


Mark Farrell Supervisor ThumbnailUndecided

Mark Farrell
District 2
(415) 554-7752 – Voice
(415) 554-7843 – Fax
Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org


Julie Christensen 2015 small image

Undecided

Julie Christensen
District 3
(415) 554-7450 – Voice
(415) 554-7454
Julie.Christensen@sfgov.org


Katy Tang Supervisor ThumbnailUnknonw

Katy Tang
District 4
(415) 554-7460 – Voice
(415) 554-7432 – Fax
Katy.Tang@sfgov.org


London Breed Supervisor ThumbnailIn Favor

London Breed
District 5
(415) 554-7630 – Voice
(415) 554-7634 – Fax
London.Breed@sfgov.org


Jane Kim Supervisor Thumbnail

In Favor

Jane Kim
District 6
(415) 554-7970 – Voice
(415) 554-7974 – Fax
Jane.Kim@sfgov.org


Norman Yee Supervisor Thumbnail

Against
District 7
(415) 554-6516 – Voice
(415) 554-6546 – Fax
Norman.Yee@sfgov.org

Scott Wiener Supervisor Thumbnail

In Favor

Scott Wiener
District 8
(415) 554-6968 – Voice
(415) 554-6909 – Fax
Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org


David Campos Supervisor Thumbnail

In Favor

David Campos
District 9
(415) 554-5144 – voice
(415) 554-6255 – fax
David.Campos@sfgov.org


Malia Cohen Supervisor Thumbnail

Undecided

Malia Cohen
District 10
(415) 554-7670 – Voice
(415) 554-7674 – Fax
Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org


John Avalos Supervisor Thumbnail

In Favor

John Avalos
District 11
(415) 554-6975 – Voice
(415) 554-6979 – Fax
John.Avalos@sfgov.org


 

Ed Lee Photo Credit: By Mayor_Ed_Lee.jpg: Nancy Pelosi derivative work: Tktru (Mayor_Ed_Lee.jpg) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons